Review: I Am Become Death

October 6, 2008

“What the hell?” I thought to myself the first time I read the title of this episode. Well, dear readers, rest assured I anticipated your laziness and did the ten seconds of research for you by googling it. “I am become Death, the destroyer of worlds” is a line from the Bhagavad Gita, which was quoted by Oppenheimer as he watched the bomb he helped develop explode. Thus, a clear reference to all of the characters whom seem to be contributing to the destruction of the world four years into the future.

Hiro‘s vision of the future seems to be a self-fulfilling prophecy, as his mistrust continues to push Ando further away. But this is really making me too sad to talk about.

I know that at least one of my readers must have been extremely pleased that Claire iced future Peter, and I think I agree. That entire scenario isn’t nearly as cool as I thought it would be. Actually, Peter Petrelli, past or present, is getting on my nerves. He’s far too self-righteous and he’s gotten this permanently confused-unhappy-eyebrows-furrowed look on his face. And I don’t understand why he needed to take Sylar’s power if his own power is pretty much the same thing, sans the necessity of cutting open the person’s head.

I did enjoy, “If I knew you were coming, I would have made extra!” even though it was ruined by the previews. It was kind of like when a movie looks hilarious in the trailer, but then you find out all of the good jokes were crammed into those thirty seconds, leaving the rest of the movie a lifeless and insipid waste of an hour and a half.

Another great line, “You don’t read much, do you?” But Matt following his totem turtle? Complete rip off of the Simpsons episode where Homer eats the Guatemalan chili peppers (grown by inmates of an insane asylum). Or perhaps it was just a nice homage? IDK anymore. IDK.

I must admit that I’m beginning to worry a bit that Tim Kring and company are running out of ideas. Things that are more than a bit reminiscent of the first season:

  1. Nathan Petrelli is on a path to the presidency.
  2. Nathan Petrelli hooks up with a character played by Ali Larter.
  3. Nathan Petrelli is being persuaded by Linderman to
  4. There is someone who paints the future.
  5. The future depicts something exploding.
  6. Someone explodes from radiation in the Bennett household.
  7. Suresh makes a stupid mistake.
  8. ? There has to be more?

Something that will be interesting, however, is finding out who has natural abilities and who was given them. Perhaps the original Company members did not have any abilities, other than the knowledge of the formula?

Last, Daphne’s hair is way cooler in the present.

3 Responses to “Review: I Am Become Death”

  1. rothchild Says:

    randog! how are you? I enjoy the posts by the way. why do you think syler lived in claire’s old house and his kids name was noah? I couldn’t figure that one out. Also I enjoy how it sounds like the african guy is calling him pac man.

  2. joshuagrace Says:

    it would be gross if gabriel married claire, though. keeping it too much in the family. although future gabriel is so awesome. my favorite character (w/ or w/o HRG) so far this season.

    i bet that Adam is the only original power person. how lame that is gonna be.

    suresh is getting dumber. you’re totally right about peter. what a goon.

    you’re right about season 1, too. can we get over trying to save the world every 5sec and having the same bad guys reappear? when everyone can travel in time that kind of crap is way too possible to be shocking.

    the haitian has been the only 100% awesome character so far this year. although, i guess he always rules.

  3. rcribay Says:

    as for the bad guys, i was so excited when they were hyping this season and they were like, “OMG! 5 Villains escape from level 5 in the first episode!” and then they all die or suck.

    i have no idea why sylar was in claire’s house. i have a feeling the writers don’t know why, either. they were probably just trying to get that “MAN THIS IS SO WEIRD!” reaction out of the audience.

Leave a Reply

