Review: Dying of the Light

October 21, 2008

Shout out to Joshua for giving me an outline for this post.

“1. can Adam please be dead forever?”


I know, right? I felt incredibly pleased when Hiro stuck him in that coffin, but I knew that he’d be back. I really hope that this indiana-jones-and-the-last-crusade-esque death (pictured above) is final. It was for the Nazi dude in Indiana Jones.

“2. what the eff was Suresh doing with Nathan and Tracy. I wish he would have wrapped them up.”

I think since they were artificially given powers (sans side effects) he was going to peep their DNA or other sciencey feature and see what he did wrong. Clearly, he is an idiot.

“3. give Parkman props”

For what, pray tell? It’s got to be easy to mack on someone when you’ve seen the future and you know you’re going to marry her anyways. But I certainly will give props to the turtle.

“4. Usutu, although so annoying that he has the same ability as Issac, is the new guru. love it. Hiro and Ando have a great line going.”

I concur. African guru is much cooler than crack head artist. In the Hiro and Ando storyline there was one of the best dialogue moments in the show. Ever…

Hiro: That guy looks familiar.

Ando: Eh, they all look the same to me.

Hiro: That’s racist.

followed by one of the funniest moments ever–Hiro seeing the painting of himself getting hit with the shovel as he watches his other self about to get hit in the head with a shovel. I thought his one minute time travel got him stuck in some loop where he was getting hit, going back one minute, walking through, getting hit, going back one minute…ad infinitum.

“5. Peter should stop talking and accept that he is ordinary.”

Again, I concur. Although I will admit that he looked pretty cool in this episode, and his use of various powers to subdue Gabriel make me feel all tingly inside again. As for his loss of powers? I’m certain that will last about as long as Adam’s death.
“6. Gabriel is by far my favorite right now.”

I loved him when he was a villain and I’m loving him as an aspiring hero. I felt like I just hugged a puppy when he told Daphne that he was no longer evil.

“7. Claire got to not be an a-hole for a whole episode! great scene with the puppet master. although did he really think that neither claire or her mom had any powers?”

I think Doyle is the creepiest bad guys since Sylar in the first season. Granted, Doyle didn’t last very long, but I got chills in the opening scene between Meredith and him. Just imagine what someone like that could do. (For example, have you repeatedly hit yourself in the face while mock pleading, “Stop hitting yourself!”)

I’m glad Claire restrained her female teenage angst; I have to deal with that enough during my day job.

“8. HRG will make things right, don’t worry.”

I kept waiting for him to bust in and save the day with Claire, her mother, and Meredith. I predict a little love triangle starting soon with his new partner.

2 Responses to “Review: Dying of the Light”

  1. joshuagrace Says:

    oh yeah! shout outs!

    good call about the racism reference. that was the best!

    parkman (not being called batman anymore) brought a lot of heart. i love him and the turtle, too. he actually made me not hate daphne for a minute, too.

    these “fake powers” is kind of a cool twist. there are some obvious questions that no one is asking beyond finding zimmerman that one time.

    i bet when peter gets his power back (by killing the old man, i guess) he will only get HIS power back and have to learn the rest all over again-that’s how he won’t have the sylar hunger anymore.

  2. rcribay Says:

    hmm…interesting solution to the “hunger” problem.

    the wifey also brought up this interesting point: arthur petrelli, peter, and gabriel all have powers that in different ways absorb the abilities of others. nathan does not. perhaps his power is artificially induced because he’s not arthur and angela’s biological son.

Leave a Reply

